Quick update

I haven’t posted in a while. The reason for this is that I’m stuck on two things, both related to the second phase of my diagnostic testing.

Last week I had my first interview, together with my mother, about my behaviour in childhood. I am still processing what happened during that interview, and I haven’t gotten to the point yet where I can write about it.

Update! I’ve finished my post on the childhood behaviour part of my diagnosis, in case you’re interested.

My second interview is next week, and I’m working like crazy on getting some sort of grip on my thoughts so I’ll be able to present a coherent picture of how autism is affecting me at the present moment.

It’s hard work, but I think I’m sort of coping. Well, apart from pretty much not having left my bedroom for the past two weeks. Which is OK. I’m not going to push myself out of my comfort zone, there are more important things to focus on right now.

Hopefully I’ll be able to write about everything at length soon! In the meantime, here is a link to an animated kitty who purrs if you rub her belly.

flash-kitty-screenshot

http://s3.amazonaws.com/wbx-files/maukie.swf

22 thoughts on “Quick update

    • Thanks! I am doing ok, it’s just a bit hectic in my head right now. The being kind is a good reminder, although easier said than done… every time I tell myself to take it easy, I remember something else that needs doing. Having a hard time letting go of the “shoulds”.

    • I was actually hoping nobody would notice this post because it feels SO WEIRD being missed. I do much better with getting ignored. Yeah, fucked up, I know. But I’m working on it. 😉

      Thank you for the encouragement on the things and all the other things though! (Your words made me smile). 🙂

  1. It helps to be somewhere you feel comfortable, safe, while you work through difficult thoughts. Keep the distractions to a minimum. Notesoncrazy put it so well: “you deserve kindness from everyone including yourself.” I’ll be thinking of you too.

    • Thank you. Your recent posts have actually been very inspirational, because you’re working through so many emotions and thoughts and experiences. I think you’re very brave for confronting all those demons in a public space, the kind of bravery that’s a bit wobbly on their legs and not entirely sure and a bit frightened of what lies ahead but determined to get on with it. That is a huge source of inspiration and support to me.

      • *blush* That’s so kind of you. I love your words: “the kind of bravery that’s a bit wobbly on their legs and not entirely sure and a bit frightened of what lies ahead” — reminded me of seeing newborn lambs in the field across from where I grew up. I guess I had gotten tired of hiding from some of my past. And being seen as an inspiration… that’s quite an alien feeling but good; I can draw strength from that. Thank you.

    • Thanks! I’m so sorry the interview stuff has fallen by the wayside as well, I hope to be able to pick that up soon again as well! I really appreciate your concern *hugs*.

      • Hey, again, no problem! Good luck with the rest of the diagnostic testing! And adorable kitty forgot to mention that earlier

        • That kitty is adorable and I found myself imitating the sounds it makes 😛 It’s going to be hard NOT to spend all my time with it

Leave a reply

